Insensivity

I don’t understand how some people can be so insensitive during these rough times.

I understand we all mourn differently.

And I know that most of my family and friends have been super supportive and sensitive.

But there are others that say things that just flabbergast me, and make me want to cry and bury myself in a hole. Some are family, and some are family “friends.”

An example being, a friend of my grandmothers came into the hospice early one morning while mom and I were waking up. My mom left to go get coffee, and this “friend” started going off about how disappointed she was of me, and how much of a disappointment I was to my grandmother, and that she doesn’t want me to end up like my mother. It was simply because she found out that I smoked cigarettes.

Who are you to judge me, and my family, while I am grieving over my dying grandmother? Later, she told my mother that she had to “put me in my place.”

I know I should let it roll it off my shoulder, but words like these are extremely hurtful, and undeserved. She claims she is a christian, but God’s teaching tells us that only He can judge us, and that we should be supportive of our brothers and sisters, especially in times like these.

I can’t help but cry, not only because my grandmother is gone, but people have to judge me and say that I’m a huge disappointment  I know my grandma loved me endlessly, and no matter what I did she would forgive me and support me.

Like she always said to me, “I love you once, I love you twice, I love you more than beans and rice” 🙂

2 thoughts on “Insensivity

  1. Thank you, Paul 🙂 I greatly appreciate your confidence in me, and you’re right- people who barely know me that write me off because they find out I smoke cigarettes really don’t know what they’re missing out on. They don’t know anything about me and my family. But this isn’t a time to hold grudges. I’ll have to see her at the funeral, but I’ll probably just avoid her.
    Thanks again ❤

  2. You’re one of the most awesome people I have ever known and I’m sure anyone who actually gets to know you feels exactly the same way. Your life is yours to live, and shouldn’t be spent trying to live up to the expectations of everyone around you. Anybody willing to write you off because you smoke cigarettes doesn’t realize what they’re missing out on. People are always at their best when they’re doing what they love and that’s when breakthroughs happen. While your path might be as straight and narrow as some would like, I know you and I know that you are destined for greatness.

Leave a Reply

